38 weeks

20130815-164302.jpg

On Tuesday, we had our 38 week check-up. I was still only 1 cm dilated. My OB measured my belly, and it hadn’t grown since last week. So it was still measuring 31/32 weeks. My weight had gone down 5 pounds since the week before. She was more worried that my fundal height had completely stopped growing, so once again she sent us right over for another ultrasound (biophysical profile or BPP) and a NST (after scaring Aaron and I both by mentioning the word emergent c-section). Both of those tests looked good, but baby girl’s belly is still measuring small. Our ob said that this is the first sign that baby is done growing in there. She’s not getting enough nutrients, and what she is getting is going to her more important parts like her brain and her heart, and not her belly. Usually this is a result of low amniotic fluid or the placenta not getting enough perfusion, but so far that all looks good. So not really sure what is causing it. So now we are going twice a week for a BPP and NST, since things like low amniotic fluid can change pretty quickly. All of this could also mean absolutley nothing, just that sweet girl is petite 🙂 But since we don’t know for sure, she is going to induce me at 39 weeks at the latest (next week!). I know I said I didn’t want to be induced, but we obviously want what is best for baby. I will feel a lot more comfortable knowing that she is healthy and outside of me! Plus, I would rather get induced now than wait till it’s too late and have to have an emergency c-section. So for now, I am offically on bed rest and we go back Friday…so hopefully we will know more of a plan then!

*Update*

We had another BPP and NST this morning (friday). Everything looked ok, but my doctor is worried the blood flow to the placenta is starting to get constricted. This is obviously pretty serious and we have no other option but to induce. We will go in the morning of the induction and do a contraction stress test. I will be started on Pitocin to the point where I am having 3 contractions within 10 minutes. I will be on the monitors and this will be a test to see if sweet girl will be able to tolerate labor. If she does tolerate these 10 minutes, then we will continue with the induction. If she does not, the pitocin will be stopped and we will go straight for a c-section. If I were to start having any signs of labor before then, I’m supposed to go straight into the hospital and not wait until my contractions are strong/close together.

How far along? 38 Weeks!

Total weight gain: up 14 lbs.

Maternity clothes? a mixture of both…can’t wait to start shopping for normal clothes again! Especially for fall! I bought a few new fall things from jcrew the other day…can’t wait to wear them!

Stretch marks? Nope

Sleep: I am sleeping more now. Last week I went 96 hours on 2 hours of sleep (no joke, I thought I was going to go crazy). Since going on bedrest, I sleep on and off during the day and night.

Best moment this week: Seeing her during our twice a week ultrasounds is great! The US techs always say she has a head full of hair!

Miss Anything? I’m actually getting a little sad that this whole process is almost over but obviously can’t wait to meet her!

Movement: lots of slow movements and less kicking. you can tell space is getting tight for her in there!

Food cravings: I could still eat ice cream everyday, and do. I am eating as much as I can to try to keep my weight up! I went to smoothie king and asked the girl for the most fattening smoothie they had…usually I am there asking the opposite question haha.

Symptoms: achey all over, headaches, nausea, no appetite, diarrhea (sorry), stomach aches when I’m lying down.

Gender: GIRL!!

Labor Signs: Just lots of braxton hicks. I was told that all of those symptoms above that Ive been having are signs of impending labor, but they have been going on for about a week now.

Belly Button in or out? It’s still flat if I’m laying down, but pokes out when I’m standing.

Wedding rings on or off? On

Looking forward to: seeing and holding her for the first time! I can’t wait to see Aaron with her!

20130816-165225.jpg

20130816-165231.jpg

One thought on “38 weeks

  1. How to copy post from other pages to your site and make it pass copyscape test
    and human readable ? To find out just type in google:
    Ziakdra’s article tool

Leave a Reply

