Stella: One Month Update

I can’t believe we have had this little girl in our lives for one month already! It has seriously gone by extremely fast…but on the other hand it feels like she has always been in our lives. I can’t imagine our little family without her now. Being mom just felt so natural from the moment she was laid on my chest, when she instantly stopped crying and stared up at me. And I know Aaron feels the same way. She is no joke the best baby ever. We are extremely blessed and lucky! The only time she ever cries is if shes hungry or if she’s in her car seat. She absolutely HATES her car seat.

Weight: 6 lbs 7 oz at birth, 6 lbs 1 oz at discharge (4.5% loss), 6 lbs 10 oz four days later, 7 lbs 12 oz at 2 weeks, and 9 lbs 12 oz at her one month appointment! She is a good eater!

Hair: It was dark blonde when she was born but now is a little darker! She has lost it all on top, she looks like an old man! But the new that is coming in looks pretty blonde. She also has a cowlick right up front by her hairline that I’m sure she is going to hate one day. Oh and the blonde little peach fuzz that was all over her little cheeks when she was born!

Eyes: When she was born, they were super dark and it was hard to tell what color they were. But they are definitely blue now!

Diapers: Stella is still in newborn diapers and will probably be for a couple more weeks I think.

Clothes: She is still in newborn sizes. All of her 0-3 months are still huge on her.

Eating: Exclusively breastfeeding and it’s been awesome. I never realized how much I would enjoy it. She’s a dream eater. She latched on perfectly from the beginning and we have had no problems. I was so worried because everyone always talks about how hard breastfeeding is, but she makes it so easy! I feed her on demand, which is anywhere from every one to five hours. I started pumping three weeks after Stella was born for when I go back to work. We haven’t given her a bottle yet though. Her feeding schedule at night is:

I nurse her at 9:30/10 pm then lay her down
1:30-3:00 am
5:00-6:30 am, then she goes back to sleep till about 9:30/10 am. I pump after her early morning feeding after I lay her back down.

Sleeping: She is a great sleeper. From day one, she slept in three hour stretches at night. The first week I was having to wake her up to eat to keep my milk supply up/prevent engorgement. There has only been one night where it took her awhile to fall back asleep after she nursed. She sleeps from around 10 pm to 10 am. She sleeps in her bassinet in our room. I think she’s the only baby ever that doesn’t like sleeping in her rock’n’play! This past week we started daytime naps in her crib. She does great, but for some reason during the day she only sleeps on her belly. I think it’s because she is used to sleeping on my chest during the day. Even though she does awesome in her crib during the day, I don’t see her sleeping in there at night for a very long time!

Here’s some pictures from Stella’s one month photo session that I took:

20130923-225718.jpg

20130923-225738.jpg

20130923-225745.jpg

20130923-225754.jpg

20130923-225804.jpg

20130923-225809.jpg

20130923-225813.jpg

9 thoughts on “Stella: One Month Update

  1. Love your blog! Quick question.. Where did you buy the large bunny? I’ve been looking around for one and can’t find one I love. This one is adorable (as is your baby!). Thanks!

  2. I love the picture with all the information! How did you add the text to the photo? I am pretty illiterate when it comes to technology! My sweet baby is a month today and I love the idea of documenting everything!

  3. I LOVE these monthly photos shoots you are doing. Where did you get the white furry blanket? I’ve been looking for a good one and can’t seem to find one! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

