Stella: Three Month Update

Sweet Stella, these last three months with you have flown right by…and with it being the holiday season I have a feeling the next month is going to be the same way. Momma knew before I had you that I was going to want you to stay in the snuggly little newborn stage forever. Daddy feels differently, he can’t wait till your older and can play with you more. But as you keep growing and interacting with us more, I’m obsessed with every little milestone. Don’t get me wrong, I already miss the newborn stage. But now that you’re getting a little personality, it’s a lot of fun. My favorite right now is walking into your room in the morning when you wake up. You see me and get this huge smile on your face and start flailing your arms and legs. I put my face down by yours, and you get bashful and turn your head the other way. All with a smile and a thumb in your mouth. Seriously, my heart explodes every time.

You have become obsessed with your hands lately. You are trying to figure them out and you get better and better everyday at using them. At first, you would just lay there and stare at them and put them together. Now you grab at your toys on your play mat. Everything you get ahold of goes straight into your mouth, especially your hands! And your drool, like A LOT.

You rolled over from your back to your belly for the first time when you were 3 months and 3 days. Of course Momma was at work, but your Dad got it on video and sent it to me. I was upset but at least Dad got to see one of your “firsts.” Speaking of work, I went back when your were 11 weeks old. Before we had you, I thought going back to work would be no big deal. I LOVE my job and it was only three shifts a week, no big deal right? Well that mentality changed as soon as I had you. So I am trying out working part time…we will see 🙂

You don’t hate your car seat anymore. Thank goodness. You instantly fall asleep as soon as we start driving. Maybe it’s because your mad that you’re in it so you make yourself fall asleep…but either way our drives are a lot more quiet and pleasant now. I no longer have to be jealous of the other moms I would see at Target pushing their sleeping babies in their seats. We have joined the club.

One of your new favorite activities is when we read books to you. You absolutely love it, sitting in our lap just staring at each page. I love that you enjoy this. You will sit their for thirty minutes while we read to you. Momma and you always sit in your rocker reading every morning after you eat. We bought your first Christmas book the other day, A Charlie Brown Christmas!

Stats:

Weight: 12 1/2 lbs according to our scale at home. We didn’t have a doctors appointment this month so the four month weight will be more official.

Hair: Blonde! Right now she has a crew cute, sticking straight up and short. But she’s getting more and more and it keeps getting blonder and blonder. Maybe she won’t have to pay for her blonde when she gets older like her momma 🙂

Eyes: Blue, but darker than both Aaron and I’s

Diapers: She’s still in size one diapers. Our issue is that she is soaking through them at night since she’s sleeping so long. They don’t start making overnight ones until size three. We are thinking about using cloth diapers at night to see how she does. Momma is tired of washing sheets every other day! We had bought a couple of those sheet savers before she was born but she’s a mover so they are pointless.

Clothes: Mostly still in 0-3 and 3 month clothes. We have put her in a couple 3-6 month pjs and they are pretty big.

Eating: Still exclusively breastfeeding and plan to as long as my supply lets me. She still makes it super easy. Since I have gone back to work, pumping takes on a whole new meaning. Not my favorite part of it all but I will continue to keep up with it so my supply isn’t affected. Right now, we have about 500 oz in the freezer for backup. I still nurse her on demand when I’m with her 5-6 days a week, so usually anywhere from 1.5 to 3 hours during the day still. I’m okay with this because she sleeps so long at night, I know she needs this much during the day.

Sleeping: Right at twelve weeks, we started putting her in her crib to sleep. I was back to work, and she was waking up hearing us get ready in the morning. The first night I was a mess and didn’t sleep all night. I don’t know what I would do without a video monitor, even now. But from night one, she has slept so well in her crib! She loves the big space. We put her at one end of the crib, and somehow she moves all the way to the other end then turns around completely and comes back by the morning. Every night this happens. She’s a belly sleeper so she scoots herself around. So much for not having a bumper, the first night in there she woke up from hitting her head against the rails. She sleeps 12 to 13 hours at night straight through. We put her down between 8 and 9 at night, and she sleeps until 8 to 10am. She has gotten to the point where we can just lay her down wide awake, and she will fall asleep on her own. This makes me sad but it’s great that she can self soothe.

Here are her three month pictures. This month was definitely more difficult. She doesn’t like to sit, she’d rather stand up like a big girl. When I would sit her up, she plunged forward toward me.

20131203-111253.jpg

20131203-111312.jpg

20131203-111326.jpg

20131203-111334.jpg

20131203-111347.jpg

20131203-111404.jpg

20131203-111416.jpg

20131203-111422.jpg

20131203-111428.jpg

Leave a Reply

